Currently, bluebeam studio sessions operate in this manner:
"It is by design that any markups that are present at the time of upload (of a document to studio session) will not be editable. Markups that were placed by a user can only be edited by the user that placed them."
The description above is a fatal flaw for the collaborative ability for groups to use markups for continued BB studio sessions over time. As documents evolve during the desing phase of large engineering projects, iterations are necesary to documents. We have large global teams using BB studio sessions to collect markups, continually update documents. It is common for a new 'version' of the document to be drafted, then re-uploaded to the same studio session. It is also common for there to be marks added prior to the document being updated back into the session. For that reason, it is critical to be able to 'edit' the markups after they are added to the BB session if the marks were present when the document is uploaded.
I suggest adding at minimum, a feature that will allow the owner of the session to "unlock" comments so they can be edited. Further, it could be done that the owner can "unlock" comments made by each indivial (similar to MS word where you can view 'track changes' made by any individual, or the collective team) or simlply to unlock changes that were existing when the document added to the session.
The suggestion I was given as a work around is to export the files, edit as needed, then reupload. However that is too cumbersome and time consuming. I see a clear and easy fix that will add funtionality and allow the session owner to maintain control of the markups. Please consider this implementation soon.