📣 COMMENT TO WIN AN AMAZON GIFT CARD!

Comments

• Greetings to the community. My go-to Bluebeam feature is adding 3D PDF content using Bluebeam olugins in design software like AutoCAD and Revit to provide interactive views to clients rather than simple static 2D sheets.

• 👷‍♀️👨‍💼 My name is Alex McCaskill and I am a geotechnical engineer in our bridge group.

Bluebeam is foundational to efficiently completing our QAQC process every day.

My favorite Bluebeam tool is the snipping/screenshot tool, in combination with the ability to change the blend mode of the resulting screenshot (multiply is my fave because it takes out the white background). I typically use this to overlay historic original plans on our proposed plans to verify locations of old borings and existing foundations. My second favorite Bluebeam tool is the ability to set the scale and take scaled measurements - which I use both on plans and to interpret graphs (especially to extend one axis of the graph down).

If anyone knows of a better way to scale the screenshot for the purpose of visually aligning old and new plans - which were not created in the same scale - do let me know. I am aware of the "overlay" feature, but that seems to work best only when the sheets are identical in size (i.e. multiple versions of the same sheet created in CADD).

Furthermore, the old plans may have some skew or distortion as a result of the way they were scanned - which means linear measurements may not be accurate - would love to have a way to auto-correct that!